EPCC offers three Motorcycle Rider Courses for riders of all skill levels. Specific course dates and prices are available in the Continuing Education Schedule.
Catalog & Schedules
Motorcycle Rider Course
Our 'Basic Motorcycle Rider Course' (MRC) is honored by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR) and provides the Class M endorsement on your driver's license upon successful completion of the course. The endorsement may also entitle you to insurance discounts with some companies.
We provide the motorcycle for the students. We require students to provide their own DOT approved helmet, full fingered gloves and eye protection (prescription glasses pass as eye protection).
Students age 15 to 17 must show proof of 32 hours previous Driver Education before admission to take Motorcycle Rider Course. Parental and instructor written permission is required to take the course.
Students must complete a 3-hour, state mandated eCourse and print the certificate of completion prior to the first day of class. Incomplete or failed eCourse is a failure for the entire course. After payment and registration, student needs to pick up the eCourse packet
in person at the
Law Enforcement Training Academy. The eCourse packet will
not be emailed.
Experienced Rider Course
The Experienced Motorcycle Operator Training Course provides experienced motorcyclists with additional skills and knowledge found to be lacking in accidents involving motorcycles. This course consists of 6 hours of hands-on training on the riding range. No matter how long you've been riding, the advanced course is tough enough to challenge your skills. You learn high-speed maneuvering, quick swerving and avoidance techniques, counter steering, traction control, and emergency braking for curves and slippery surfaces. Skills you can use whether you're touring cross-country or just riding down to the corner store.
- use their own helmet
- use their own motorcycle or a motorcycle borrowed with written permission from the actual owner
- already possess a Class M endorsement for a minimum of 6 months
- show a valid drivers license, proof of insurance, and valid vehicle registration
Three Wheel Motorcycle Rider Course
Learn the basic motorcycle skills necessary to safely enjoy the 3-Wheel motorcycle. The Texas Department of Public Safety (TDPS) approved this 16-hour course, which includes classroom instruction and driving training. Three Wheel Motorcycles, and helmets are furnished without additional charge. Successful completion qualifies the student to obtain a 3-Wheel bike endorsement from TDPS and may also entitle you to insurance discounts.
Students age 15 to 17 must show proof of 32 hours previous Driver Education training, before admission. Parental and instructor written permission is required to take the course.
Courses are offered in partnership with CAN-AM. Students interested in the three wheel motorcycle rider course must register and pay online through the
Required for all courses:
- Long sleeve shirt
- Long pants (no holes)
- Over the ankle boots (no canvas or tennis shoes)
- Eye protection (sunglasses or clear safety glasses)
- Full fingered gloves
- Sun screen
- Something to drink
- Lunch & snacks (refrigerator provided)