Teachership Academy


The Teachership Academy is now accepting applications for the 2015-2016 Phase I cohort!


TA LogoTeachership Academy TA Logo Lines



El Paso Community College's Teachership Academy is a ten-month professional developmental program designed to provide faculty a cohort experience while focusing on Teaching and Learning and providing them the opportunity to implement what they have learned through an Action Research Project conducted in their classes as the culmination of the Academy experience. The goals of this Academy are to:

  1. Enhance teaching skills for participants.
  2. Enhance the learning of participants' students.
  3. Prepare Academy Graduates to become Mentor teachers who serve to assist other faculty at the college with their instructional and developmental needs.

 Workshop Schedule

 Principle Elements

  • Workshops and other events will offer ideas/strategies to enhance teaching and learning of students.

  • Participants will conduct an Action Research Project (PDF) that examines how their teaching strategies impact student learning. For examples of how these projects are being developed click on the EPCC Action Research link located in the right pane of this site.

  • Participants will learn as a cohort allowing for collaboration and discussion of best practice.

  • Upon graduation from the Academy each participant will be designated as a Mentor teacher and will assist new faculty with their instructional and developmental needs.

  • Faculty Development credits for the academic year will be earned by each participant.

  • Fulltime and adjunct faculty are eligible to participate in the Academy.

  • Apply for the Academy using the Teachership Academy Application.

 Special Announcement

We are pleased to announce that the Community College Times has posted an article on the Teachership Academy. “The great work being done by the TA Steering Committee has resulted in great success with the faculty participants at EPCC and now has also put this program on the national radar as well,” says Dr. Lydia Tena. A job well done!


Community_College_OverviewUse SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
NISOD_May2009Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
NISOD_May2010Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
NISOD_May2011Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
NISOD_May2013Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Orientation Session CBD Presentation.pdf
Orientation Session CBD PresentationUse SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Orientation Session CBD Presentation
TA_Jan2010Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).

 Contact Information

For information about the Academy you may contact:

Dr. Lydia Tena

Northwest Campus

(915) 831-8859

Email: lpere121@epcc.edu

You may also contact any member of the Teachership Academy committee.