MENINGITIS VACCINE REQUIRED MUST BE ADMINISTERED AT LEAST 10 DAYS BEFORE REGISTERING FOR CLASSES
The Texas Legislature revised existing statutory requirements for higher education students related to vaccination against bacterial meningitis. The revision now requires all entering students under the age of 22 to show evidence of an initial bacterial meningitis vaccine or a booster dose during the five-year period preceding, and at least 10 days prior to, the first day of the first semester in which the student initially enrolls at an institution.
In order to comply with this State Law mandate, students will not be able to register (enroll) for classes at EPCC until 10 days after the vaccination has been administered. This ten-day period is to protect vaccinated students during the 10-day period required for “onset of immunity” provided by the vaccine.
The term “entering student” includes a first-time student of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education and includes a transfer student, or a student who previously attended an institution of higher education before January 1, 2012, and who is enrolling in the same or another institution of higher education following a break in enrollment of at least one fall or spring semester.
The College does not provide meningitis vaccinations. In order to avoid enrollment delays, students are strongly encouraged to receive the appropriate vaccinations early. The vaccination may be available from your personal physician or these public health clinics (PDF).
One of the following items must be provided to any EPCC Admissions and Registration Assistant prior to enrollment into classes:
- State approved documentation from a physician, clinic, previous school, or government issued shot record demonstrating that the student has been vaccinated during the five-year period immediately preceding and at least 10 days prior to the first day of class; Or,
- A letter from a licensed medical physician certifying that in the opinion of the physician the required meningococcal vaccination would be injurious to the health and well-being of the student; Or,
- An official Exemption from Meningococcal Vaccination issued by the Texas Department of State Health Services approving an exception for reasons of conscience. The exemption form may be requested via the Texas Department of State Health Services website.
- Learn more about your college vaccine requirements and the different processes for submitting an exemption depending on the type of institution of higher education.
Students requiring more information regarding the vaccine should consult their primary care physician and review the Vaccine Information Sheet found at the Center for Disease Control.
Students and/or family members with questions concerning the new State of Texas law (SB 1107) may visit the
Texas Legislature Online website.
For more information regarding the State of Texas requirements, please contact us at (915) 831-2150.
Important Information about Bacterial Meningitis (PDF)