Instructional Programs

 Course Overview

El Paso Community College now offers two, transferable degrees; an Associate of Arts degree (AA), and an Associate of Sciences degree (AS). The AS degree calls for higher-level science and math courses to be taken, than the AA degree calls for.  In each degree, students can choose an area of concentration or a Field of Study.  The degrees feature blocks of instruction in nine key academic areas, which constitutes the 42-hour core curriculum. Once a student has successfully completed all the courses in the core curriculum with an average of "C" or better, that block of courses is fully transferable to any Texas state-supported college or university. The student can earn the AA or AS degree by completing an additional 18 semester credit hours of elective courses from one or more of the academic areas of concentration or Fields of Study.

Special Notes


Students should carefully review the new core curriculum and the areas of concentration, meet with an El Paso Community College academic counselor and contact the college or university to which they plan to transfer before choosing an area of concentration or Field of Study.

Click here to view Plan Description.

 District Wide Coordinator

Nicholas A. Fernandez

Mission del Paso

(915) 831-7021